The Annual Awards 2020

The Annual Awards 2020

The German Record Critics’ Award announces the Annual Awards for 2020. The jurors nominated a total of 120 titles. Of these, 112 made it onto the Long List, and the annual committee selected 10 for an award. The awards will be presented individually to the winners over the next few weeks and months. The dates and locations of the ten award ceremonies will be announced as soon as possible.

07.10.2020 – The ten Annual Awards 2020 go to:
  • the Institute for Computermusic and Sound Technology, Zurich for the double CD »Les Espaces Électroacoustiques II« (col legno / Naxos)
  • Bob Dylan for the double album »Rough And Rowdy Ways« (Columbia Records/Sony)
  • the mezzo-soprano Olivia Vermeulen and the pianist Jan Philip Schulze for the recital »Dirty Minds« (Challenge Classics/Bertus)
  • the actor Rufus Beck and the German Bible Society, Stuttgart, for the unabridged reading of the Bible in the Luther translation (Der Audio Verlag)
  • The Düsseldorf Düsterboys for their debut album »Nenn mich Musik« (Staatsakt/Bertus)
  • conductor Markus Poschner and all those involved in the complete recording of Jacques Offenbach’s opera »Maître Péronilla« (Bru Zane/Note 1)
  • the country-rock band The Jayhawks for their eleventh album »XOXO« (Sham Records/Membran)
  • filmmaker Alan Elliott for editing and publishing Pollack’s concert film »Aretha Franklin – Amazing Grace« (Sony)
  • the pianist Dina Ugorskaja, posthumously, for her recording of late piano works by Franz Schubert (CAvi Music/harmonia mundi)
  • the jazz pianist and composer Carla Bley and her trio colleagues for the album »Life Goes On« (ECM/Universal)

Here the juries reasons can be found.

The following jurors worked in the 2020 annual committee of the PdSK: Manuel Brug (Jury Opera II), Eleonore Büning (Jury Chamber Music), Torsten Fuchs (advisory, Jury R&B, Soul, Hip-Hop), Christine Heise (Jury Rock), Christoph Irrgeher (Jury Crossover Productions), Hans-Jürgen Linke (Jury Jazz II), Max Nyffeler (Jury Opera I), Tobias Rapp (Jury Club & Dance), Wolfgang Schreiber (Jury Historical Recordings), Michael Stegemann (Jury Concertos) and Juliane Streich (Jury Rock).