Nightingale Award (»Nachtigall«) & Honorary Awards 2024

Nightingale Award (»Nachtigall«) & Honorary Awards 2024

01.12.2023 – The German Record Critics’ Award is proud to announce its three Honorary Awards and the Nightingale of the Year Award (»Nachtigall«) for 2024; we congratulate the winners! The jurors of the PdSK e.V. award honorary prizes to personalities from the world of music who have set new standards in their respective fields of activity, and who thus represent the recorded medium as a cultural asset.

With the Nightingale – a bronze sculpture designed by the artist Daniel Richter – the PdSK honors outstanding artists who have had a lasting influence on our musical life and have changed it for the better – and continue to do so. Murray Perahia, Leonard Cohen, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Christian Gerhaher, Brigitte Fassbaender, the RIAS Chamber Choir and jazz pianist Irène Schweizer are among the past winners of the Nightingale Award.

In this spirit, the following artists will be honored: French soprano Veronique Gens, who has helped shape over 80 records with her warm, lyrical voice and whimsical humor; Daniel Behle, tenor and »treasure hunter«, who takes great song cycles just as seriously as he does vocal forays through his favorite city of Hamburg or, most recently, the search for the phenomenon of home; and composer Ludger Brümmer, a digital pioneer who explores ways to integrate computer technology and sound art. Last, but certainly not least: Nina Hagen, who will be awarded the Nightingale. The PdSK e.V. honors her as an artist and an artistic personality who unites everything.

The awards will be presented in a festive setting in front of an audience. The PdSK e.V. will announce the time and place as soon as possible.

Here are the reasons given by the annual committee:
Honorary Awards
Nightingale Award

Download press release (PDF)

The following jury members are involved in the 2023 annual committee: Laura Aha (Jury Club and Dance), Manuel Brug (Jury Opera II), Ralf Dombrowski (Jury Pop), Jörn Florian Fuchs (Jury Verbal Art), Julia Kaiser (Jury Chamber Music II), Sabrina Palm (Jury Folk and Singer/Songwriter), Isabel Steppeler (Jury Electronic and Experimental), Markus Thiel, Albrecht Thiemann (both Lieder and Vocal Recital) and Matthias Wegner (Jury Jazz II)